I had so much fun with this project, and learned a lot about my interviewee’s jobs. I was so excited to learn the truth about prison, because I never understood how someone could work in a prison. I never questioned my parent’s jobs until now. I was always worried that one day I would get a phone call from the warden of both of my parents jobs saying there was a fight today and you mother or step-dad got hurt. That scares me, but now that I understand what they do and how it is just like any other job I feel secure now. I was always nervous to ask them about there jobs because I thought I would find out something I did not want to hear. However, I found out mostly good things about working in a prison, which have changed my whole perception about the staff and the inmates. During the interviews I herd the word respect many times and never understood how important respect was in a prison, but now I know that respect is important to inmates because it is the only thing the inmates have to hold onto.

     While doing my interview I had difficulty staying focused on one question at a time. I realized I had so many question that I wanted to ask my parents about there jobs. Some of my question did not even go with my interview, so I had a problem staying focused on the points I was trying to make about prisons.

     I believe that I did very well at conducting these interviews. Even though it was hard for me to stay focused on my main point and I wanted to ask other questions that had nothing to do with my point, I feel as though I got my points. I realized that I was going off topic and fixed it, plus I edited out the parts that I did not want in my oral history. I was very professional even though I interviewed people who were close to. If I were not professional in conducting my research then I would not have the great end results I have now.

     I learned many new things during my interviews about my parent’s jobs that I did not know before. All of the thoughts that I had about prisons were gone because it was nothing that I thought it was. I found a lot of things interesting as well. Like what reasons are inmates locked up for etc…




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I'm getting over my fears and  going with the wind wherever that may be.

    RSS Feed